The following five candidates were elected at the 2021 Annual Meeting to serve as trustees from 2021 - 2024

  1. Debbie Allbright   2. Bill Fisk   3. Joshua Knight   4. Lorry Spitzer    5. Jennifer Rodes Swetland


 Debbie Allbright has three grown sons, two sweet grandbabies and lives in the northwest suburbs of Chicago with her husband Scott. She has been an elementary school teacher since 1987 and is looking forward to retiring after this school year.  Debbie was introduced to the CSA by her husband Scott, whose family began coming to the assembly in the 70’s.  Debbie served as the Youth Director from 2011-2019 and volunteers at the assembly each summer.  She is the co-founder of Crystal Kickers and can usually be spotted on the beach ready to kick around the lifeline at 3:00 each day.




Bill Fisk lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan with his wife, Renee. He works for Northwestern Mutual as a wealth advisor and has been with the company for 28 years. Bill has spent all of his Summers coming up to his cottage on Crystal Lake. His greater family started coming up around 1917. As a lifelong CSA member, his children, Bill, Peter & Haley, were blessed to spend their summers here too. Bill enjoys fishing, hunting, and spending time with his family at his favorite place - the cottage. He looks forward to giving back to the CSA because of the joy it has brought to him and his family.



Josh Knight lives on the northside of Chicago with his family; wife Michelle and sons Easton (9) and Arlo (6). He is VP of Music at Wasserman Music and spends his days booking touring bands around the world. While not working, he enjoys camping, music, hanging with family and friends and hitting Cubs games. Josh has spent every summer of his life visiting and enjoying Crystal Lake, as his father Jonathan and grandfather and grandmother Hal & Nan Knight did most of their lives. He is excited to join the CSA Board of Trustees and looks forward to helping move the CSA towards the future!



2021nomLSpitzerLorry Spitzer resides in Boston, Massachusetts with his wife Diane.  Lorry and Diane are long-time members of the CSA and have served on numerous committees and in various volunteer capacities over the years. Lorry previously served as a Trustee of the Assembly when Russ Freeburg, Holly’s father, was President.   Lorry spent most of his professional career as a partner in the law firm of Ropes & Gray where he specialized in the governance and taxation of nonprofit organizations.  He presently works in the Office of General Counsel at MIT.  Lorry has never missed a summer at the CSA and loves the time spent at the Assembly with family and friends.  Lorry’s grandparents, Gustavus and Helen Ohlinger, first came to the Assembly in 1915.


2021nomJSwetlandJennifer Swetland (Rodes/Stewart) has not missed a season at the CSA since her parents brought her up as an infant in the summer of 1980. Jenn has many wonderful memories from participating in CSA activities as a youth. She took her very first job working at the front desk of the CSA office with Jim and Luanne Buzzell. More recently, Jenn has served on the Spiritual Life Committee since 2016. Jenn lives outside of Philadelphia with her husband, Jeff, and two daughters, Callan (9) and Maggie (7). She has been a middle school teacher in Pennsylvania for nearly 20 years. Seven years ago, Jenn shifted into the role of English Language Development Specialist. She loves teaching her international students, and also working closely with their families in their transitions to moving and living in the United States.  Jenn’s passion is teaching yoga. She teaches her colleagues after school, students in the Best Buddies program, and also at a local studio in Philadelphia.



The Nomination Process for the Board of Trustees

In an effort to make the nominations process transparent, below is information on how the committee selects nominees. The Nominations Committee meets each summer, and after very lively debates, selects five nominees. 

The ideal candidate has a record of sustained service to the Congregational Summer Assembly, works well in groups, accepts responsibility, and possesses expertise on issues such as finance, land use and personnel. At least one nominee is chosen because he/she appears to be capable of eventually assuming the CSA presidency. The committee tries to select a slate that represents a balance of ages, genders, interests, and professional backgrounds. Anyone wishing to nominate someone for the Board is encouraged to contact a member of the committee.

Following the committee meeting, each nominee is contacted and asked if they are willing to serve as a trustee for three years, attend nearly all Board Meetings (particularly the fall meeting), accept the financial costs and the sacrifice of time that go with being a trustee. Most nominees readily consent to serve as trustees. However, if a nominee asks to be considered at a later date or declares themselves unable to accept the post, one of the well qualified nominees on the back up list is contacted. If there is a vacancy on the Board during the winter, the Executive Committee is tasked with finding a replacement until the next annual meeting

Committee Members:

Jonathan Buntain, Chair

Anne Burt

Joel Buzzell

Molly Bazzani

Debbie Cenname

Ellen Herscher

Lou Rollinson

Bob Schmidt

Helen Wangard

Nancy Weir