From the Managing Director

Thanks to the staff and volunteers for your hard work, dedication to your responsibilities, and most of all for keeping the spirit of the Assembly alive and well!  I will look forward to seeing all of you back here at Pilgrim in June! 







The Congregational Summer Assembly Annual Meeting shall be held on Saturday, July 29, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in the Assembly Building, CSA, Frankfort, Michigan. The following business will be before the meeting:


The following four candidates have agreed to be nominated at the 2017 Annual Meeting to serve as trustees from 2017-2020:

1. Holly Freeburg, 2. Luette Frost, 3. John Harbeson, 4. Alan Marble, 5. Robert Molloy


Members eligible to vote who are unable to attend the Annual Meeting should file proxy votes with the secretary at least 24 hours prior to the meeting. Proxy votes, which may be left at the office, must include the name of the voting member, name of the member authorized to vote in proxy, name and date of the meeting to which the proxy applies. No more than 7 proxy votes shall be held by one person. Associate Members are not permitted to designate proxies.

The following is a sample proxy which would apply to any business which properly may come before said meeting. You may limit such a proxy to certain issues or motions if you wish.


“Know all persons by these presents. That I _____________________________________________________________

of ____________________________________________________________________do hereby constitute and appoint _____________________________________

  _______________________________________ my proxy at the meeting of the Congregational Summer Assembly to be held at C.S.A. on the ______day of 20____.

Signature ______________________________________________

Date   _____________________________________


2016 Annual Meeting

Click here to read the CSA August 6 2016 Annual Meeting Minutes.

2015 Annual Meeting

Click here to read the CSA July 25 2015 Annual Meeting Minutes.







From the President

Now that the programs and season of the CSA are solidly over for 2017, it feels like the Meeting House on a Sunday morning after the choir sings a last note of a song. Ken, with the flick of his fingers, has brought silence, but the music lingers in the air.

I’m one of the lucky ones who gets to stay through September in this wonderful place. It’s the same and not the same. The only balls on the ball field these days are the ones being chased by Alan and Jill Marble’s dog. Yesterday, Lou Rollinson and I took our chances and swam the lifeline. Today, the air temperature might hit 70. Judy Rodes and I plan to sneak into the costume room in preparation for the Youth Operetta Judy is writing for next summer. The sunsets and sunrises still cast a pink glow in the air, but there aren’t as many of us here to witness the beauty. The same and not the same.

We at the CSA are an intricate web of people. I look forward to working and playing together with you behind the scenes and out in the open, over the winter and when the changing leaves come back again.

All the best to all of you.

Barbara Perry


The Nomination Process for the Board of Trustees

In an effort to make the nominations process transparent, below is information on how the committee selects nominees. The Nominations Committee meets once each summer, and in the course of a couple hours of very lively debate, selects five nominees: three Lot Owners and two Associate Members. 

The ideal candidate has a record of sustained service to the Congregational Summer Assembly, works well in groups, accepts responsibility, and possesses expertise on issues such as finance, land use and personnel. At least one nominee is chosen because he/she appears to be capable of eventually assuming the CSA presidency. The committee tries to select a slate that represents a balance of ages, genders, interests, and professional backgrounds. The committee ensures that there is always a member of the clergy on the Board of Trustees. Anyone wishing to nominate someone for the Board is encouraged to contact a member of the committee.

Following the committee meeting, each nominee is contacted and asked if they are willing to serve as a trustee for three years, attend nearly all Board Meetings (particularly the fall meeting), accept the financial costs and the sacrifice of time that go with being a trustee. Most nominees readily consent to serve as trustees. However, if a nominee asks to be considered at a later date or declares themselves unable to accept the post, one of the well qualified nominees on the back up list is contacted. If there is a vacancy on the Board during the winter, the Executive Committee is provided with one or more nominees from the back up list to serve until the next annual meeting.

The following five candidates have agreed to be nominated at the 2016 Annual Meeting to serve as trustees from 2017-2020:

1. Holly Freeburg, 2. Luette Frost, 3. John Harbeson, 4. Alan Marble, 5. Robert Molloy

Committee Members:

Liz Gottlieb, Chair

Jonathan Buntain

Anne Burt

Joel Buzzell

Molly Bazzani

Lou Cenname

Ellen Herscher

Lou Rollinson

Bob Schmidt

Helen Wangard

Nancy Weir




Here are current committee chairs:

Click on names below to send an email.

Arts Barbara Perry and Jane Taylor
Budget Lou Rollinson
Buildings & GroundsJoel A. Buzzell
BylawsJim Gosnell
Calendar Linda Schopp
Citations Marjorie Pearsall-Groenwald
Communications Holly Freeburg
Construction Review Tom Kucera
Crystal View 
Ecology Linda Campbell
Education Fund Ginny Knutsen
Executive  Larry Iles
Forest Care Julia Nerbronne
Membership Tim Dennison
Nominations Elizabeth Gottlieb
Pilgrim Fund David Pray
Preservation Fund Fred Lauerman
Spiritual Life Fred Edmonds
Tennis Alan Marble and Dennis Nahnsen
Waterfront  Ann Burroughs and Bob Cooper
Youth  — Kathy Way-Molloy and Kathleen Lodes

More Articles...

  1. Budget
  2. Board