We’ve started a book club for those of you who like to read fiction. This summer we’ll just tackle one book, Gilead, by Marilynne Robinson. The protagonist is a Congregational minister who explores what it means to live a moral life. It’s a spiritual book, incredibly beautifully written.

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

We’ll discuss it on two dates in the hopes that everyone will have a chance to participate. Please join us July 18 at 4:00 p.m. or August 7 at 12:30 p.m. (bring your lunch) in the Lounge. Email Merry Elrick at if you have any questions. Happy reading!