Attention CSA Book Lovers!

We’ve started a book club for those of you who like to read fiction. This summer we’ll just tackle one book, Gilead, by Marilynne Robinson. The protagonist is a Congregational minister who explores what it means to live a moral life. It’s a spiritual book, incredibly beautifully written.

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

We’ll discuss it on two dates in the hopes that everyone will have a chance to participate. Please join us July 18 at 4:00 p.m. or August 7 at 12:30 p.m. (bring your lunch) in the Lounge. Email Merry Elrick at if you have any questions. Happy reading!

2018 CSA Calendar of Events

Sunday June 17 First Sunday Service 11:00 a.m.
Monday June 18 Office Opens/Programs Begin   9:00 a.m.
Thursday June 28 Potluck Dinner   6:00 p.m.
Saturday June 30 Board of Trustees Meeting   9:00 a.m.
Saturday July 7 Dutton Concert   7:30 p.m.
Sunday July 8 Annual Picture & Vespers   11:00 a.m & 7:30 p.m.
Mon-Saturday July 9-14 July Tennis Tournament     TBA
Monday July 9 Children’s Operetta Try-outs   1:00 p.m.
Wednesday July 18 Art Workshops             TBA
Thursday July 19 Potluck Dinner   6:00 p.m.
Thursday July 19 Open Forum   7:30 p.m.
Friday July 20 Children’s Operetta Dress Rehearsal   7:30 p.m.
Saturday July 21 Crystal Lake & Watershed Assoc. Annual Meeting   9:30 a.m.
Saturday July 21 Children’s Operetta   7:30 p.m.
Tuesday July 24 Cottage Treasurers Pre-sale   5:00 p.m.
Wednesday July 25 Arts and Crafts Fair 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.
Friday July 27 Stunt Night   7:30 p.m.
Saturday July 28 Burrows-Getz Concert   7:30 p.m.
Monday July 30 Adult Musical Try-outs   1:00 p.m.
Mon-Friday July 30-Aug 3 Gibson Series 12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m.
Friday August 3 Board of Trustees Meeting   9:00 a.m.
Saturday August 4 Annual Meeting   9:30 a.m.
Saturday August 4 Armstrong Concert   7:30 p.m.
Sunday August 5 Vespers   7:30 p.m.
Mon-Saturday August 6-11 August Tennis Tournament    TBA
Monday August 6 Wildewood-Golf Lane Annual Meeting    TBA
Tuesday August 7 Women’s Association Annual Meeting   9:00 a.m.
Wednesday August 8 Authors & Artisans Fair 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
Fri & Sat August 10-11 Adult Musical   7:30 p.m.
Monday August 13 Art Workshops     TBA
Thursday August 16 Potluck Dinner   6:00 p.m.
Thursday August 16 Open Forum   7:30 p.m.
Friday August 17 Office Closes/Programs End   4:00 p.m.
Sunday August 19 Last Sunday Service 11:00 a.m.